Eight Seniors Named Presidential Scholar Candidates

Indian Springs is proud to have eight seniors selected as candidates for the prestigious United States Presidential Scholars Program. Eight is the most for any school in Alabama, and more than Indian Springs has ever recorded. It is 11.43% of our senior class.
The candidates are Caroline Beisher*, Liam Falconer, Andrew Glassford*, Wellington Jiang*, Joseph Katz*, Catherine Kung*, Emma Peng*, and Andy Schwebel*.

Established in 1964, the Presidential Scholars Program seeks to recognize some of the country’s most distinguished graduating seniors. Candidates are selected based on their ACT or SAT scores or by nomination by a Chief State School Officer. Approximately 110 students from Alabama and 5,000 students nationwide were selected as candidates in 2022.

Candidates are invited to submit an application to continue in the program. Up to 161 finalists will be named Presidential Scholars and will have the opportunity to attend a White House-sponsored recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C., this June. 

Since the program began, five Indian Springs students have been named Presidential Scholars, one of the country’s highest honors for high school students.

*These students were also named National Merit Finalists.

Congratulations to all!