Eighteen Springs Students Win Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

Eighteen Indian Springs students received 31 awards—including five Gold Keys, the highest level of achievement at the regional level—in the 2020 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards:

Drew Fetterolf ’21
Silver Key | Photography
2 Honorable Mentions | Photography

Molly Frohsin ’20
Silver Key | Personal Essay

Julia Goldberg ’20
Silver Key | Personal Essay

Lara Harfner ’22
Honorable Mention | Architecture & Industrial Design

Nancy Hu ’22
Gold Key | Personal Essay
Honorable Mention | Flash Fiction
Honorable Mention | Short Story

Tatum Kelley ’23
Silver Key | Flash Fiction

Eleanor Lee '21
Honorable Mention | Poetry

Kimely Li ’22
Silver Key | Photography

Nicol Mai ’22
2 Gold Keys | Photography
Silver Key | Photography

Hooper Markert ’21
Silver Key | Photography
2 Honorable Mentions | Photography

Sofia Monteleone '22
Silver Key | Poetry

Deven Patel '20
Silver Key | Poetry

Jessie Riha ’20
Honorable Mention | Ceramics & Glass

Sabra Rogers ’20
Honorable Mention | Photography

Laura Sovacool ’20
Silver Key | Ceramics & Glass

Emma Wang ’20
Gold Key | Writing Portfolio
2 Silver Keys | Personal Essay
Silver Key | Short Story
Silver Key | Dramatic Script

Jack Yan ’21
Gold Key | Short Story

Stephen Zheng ’21
Honorable Mention | Photography
Silver Key | Photography

Founded in 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program seeks to celebrate student achievement in the visual and literary arts in 29 categories, including architecture, photography, flash fiction, poetry, painting, novel writing, video game design, and more. Submissions are evaluated for originality, technical skill, and the emergence of personal voice or vision.

Notable Scholastic alumni include Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Joyce Carol Oates, Stephen King, Robert Redford, Ken Burns, and other creative visionaries.

Students receiving Gold Keys will advance to compete for Gold and Silver medals at the national level this spring. To learn more about the awards, visit www.artandwriting.org.

Congratulations to Indian Springs’ 2020 winners!