Mehta ’20 and Standaert ’20 Named Presidential Scholar Candidates

Indian Springs seniors Labdhi Mehta ’20 and Ben Standaert ’20 have been selected as candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program. 

Established in 1964, the Presidential Scholars Program seeks to recognize some of the country’s most distinguished graduating seniors. Candidates are selected based on their ACT or SAT scores or by nomination by a Chief State School Officer. Approximately 130 students from Alabama and 4,000 students nationwide were selected as candidates in 2020.

Candidates are invited to submit an application to continue in the program. Up to 161 finalists will be named Presidential Scholars and will have the opportunity to attend a White House-sponsored recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C. this June. 

Since the program began, five Indian Springs students have been named Presidential Scholars, one of the country’s highest honors for high school students.

To read more about the program, click here.

Congratulations to Labdhi and Ben!