Head of School Search

Dear Indian Springs Community:

On behalf of the Search Committee and the Board of Governors, we are pleased to announce the appointment of Scott Schamberger, Assistant Headmaster for Admission and College Counseling from Woodberry Forest School in Woodberry Forest, Virginia, as Indian Springs’ seventh Head of School since its opening in 1952. His term will begin on July 1, 2020.

Mr. Schamberger’s appointment is the culmination of a seven-month national search process.  Scott’s selection by the Search Committee was unanimously approved by the Indian Springs School Board of Governors on October 25, 2019.

You will hear more about Scott, and from him directly, in the coming weeks, but know that the Committee and Board were impressed by his experience and leadership in independent schools and higher education that spans a period of nearly 20 years. Scott comes to us from Woodberry Forest School where he serves as the school’s chief enrollment management officer and oversees their college counseling program. Scott is also the current board president at the Association of Independent School Admission Professionals (AISAP), a professional organization dedicated to supporting and advancing admission and enrollment management best practices at independent schools across the country. Earlier, he also held leadership roles in Emory University’s Office of Undergraduate Admission where he was an Assistant Dean and eventually Associate Dean for Admission Operations and then served as Director of Institutional Advancement at Randolph School in Huntsville, Alabama where he managed the school’s admission, marketing, communications, and fundraising operations. Scott received a BS in Biology from Emory University, a Master of Education from the University of Georgia and is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Educational Policy Studies from Georgia State University. He and his wife Tracy live on campus at Woodberry Forest with their daughter and son.
We would like to thank the members of the Search Committee, Parent Advisory Committee and Alumni Advisory Committee for their hard work in support of this important endeavor as well as the students, faculty, alumni, and parents who took the time to meet our candidates and provide us with their valuable feedback. We would also like to express our appreciation to our search firm, Resource Group 175, and Tom Olverson in particular, for their invaluable assistance. We hope you will join us in congratulating Scott and his family and that you will have the opportunity to meet them in the near future.


Alan Z. Engel '73, P '03, '12
Chair of the Board of Governors

Lia Rushton P '09, '11
Chair of the Interim and Permanent Head Search Committees

List of 3 items.

  • Search Committee

    Chair: Lia Rushton, P '09, '11
    Janet Perry Book P ’04, ’09
    Elizabeth Goodrich P '20, '23
    Jonathan Gray
    Kyung Han '85
    Jonathan Horn '75
    Randall Minor '99
    Hanson Slaughter ’90, P ’20, ’22
    Callen Bair Thistle '01
  • Parent Advisory Committee

    Misty Antoon, P '22, '23
    Gloria Ge, P '21
    David Haws, P '20
    Tameeka Marshall, P '21
    Heidi Molbak, P '19
    Lisa Schwiebert, P '17, '19
    Valerie Thompson '87, P '16, '21
    Rick Tozzi, P '20, '22
    Paul Weir, P '21
  • Alumni Advisory Committee

    Charles Robinson '59
    Martin Damsky '68, P '98
    Carole Griffin '78, P '17
    Mark Sabel '84, P '21, '23
    Radhika Patil DeLaire '96
    J. W. Carpenter '97
    Emily Hess Levine '01
    Kevin Mayo '11